November 3

Revelation 3:20

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

I’ve read that we have misrepresented this verse. We have made it about salvation when this letter was to the church in Laodicea. Commentaries have written that it is actually about being ready. Christ’s coming will be like a sudden knock at the door! (James 5:9 “The judge is standing at the door”) Much like the 10 virgins of Matt. 25 (the door was shut to the 5 foolish ones because they were not prepared) today’s church could see it happen to them as well. If we remain watchful and ready for His return, which will happen quickly, the door will be opened to us and we will join him at the marriage supper of the Lamb…what a joyful day that will be!

My prayer for the prodigal is that they are ready, recognize the Lord’s knocking on the door and open that door to His activity in their life.

Revelation 3:20

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If ________ hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him/her, and he/she with me.

Leave a Reply

